Uji Green Tea Otsuusan
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Uji Sencha Otsūsan


Score: 4.13 (votes: 16)
Reviews: 14
14
Score: 4.13 (votes: 16)
Reviews: 14
 
Rating of votes (16)
5
 
 
6customers
4
 
 
6customers
3
 
 
4customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Leo Kong
    juil. 29, 2020, 12:57
    Brewed as follows (6 grams / 300 mL or 6 grams / 250 mL):
    1. 70 C 60 s : thick brothy taste. Aroma of fresh hay
    2. 80 C 30 s : lighter broth with stronger hay aroma. At times, hints of orchid flowers and mint
    3. 80 C 1 min 45 s: very light broth with light grassy aroma. May benefit from longer infusion depending on taste as it develops astringency but also floweriness.
    4. (Optional): up to 6 minutes 90 C. The result is a more astringent brew and less complexity.

    The tartness is very temperature dependent, and rises as temperature goes down. When the tea is cold, the tartness is not pleasant. The complex changes in tartness, brothiness (umami) and hay aroma as the tea cools is very interesting. Theanine and caffeine levels must be high as mood and energy are greatly elevated after second infusion. Thank you, O-cha, for sourcing this wonderful tea.
  • Sergii Rumiantsev
    avril 2, 2018, 18:46
    Strong flavor, a little bit sweet, very resonable price. Recommend.
  • Jay Iwasaki
    oct. 25, 2017, 17:44
    One of the best green teas I've ever had. One of the best values as well.

    I'm not so great at describing the flavour, but it's strong without being overpowering. Sweet with umami, generally well rounded. 2nd brewings are also as good as first brewings of some green teas I've tried, which makes this incredibly good value.
  • Denise Fischer
    sept. 4, 2017, 00:25
    This is my daily tea that I have been drinking from O-cha for over five years. I have tried many and this one I prefer and it is reasonably priced.
  • Janet
    août 3, 2017, 03:46
    I read O-Cha's comments below and agree completely. I realize I made a mistake in my review. 90C was the kettle temp, not the brewing temp. I agree with all their comments and although I do like this tea brewed slightly hotter, I usually prefer tea brewed with lower temps and times.
    Original post:
    After experimentation, I decided that I preferred this tea brewed with very hard water and a higher brew temperature (about 90C). I also use a rounded 1T to 6oz water. Brewed as directed, it seemed rather flat to me. I tried making it with bottled water at both cooler and warmer temperatures and different amounts of leaf before deciding I preferred it at the higher temp with harder water (my tap water is very hard.) I also do the second infusion for 2 minutes and the third for 4 to 5 minutes. I also found I liked it made with tea treats better than sipping by itself. Hope that helps!
    O-Cha.com Japanese Green Tea & Matcha
    août 3, 2017, 10:37
    We think 90 C is too high for this. Brew time is also quite important. Over-boiling water will make tea taste flat, only bring the water to where it's simmering then turn it off. Cool the water down by first pouring the water into the cups, this will also add oxygen to the water. Technique is important.
  • Christophe FRISON
    août 1, 2017, 16:50
    One of the most delicious tea I've ever tasted. I recommand.
  • Cory
    mai 23, 2017, 10:50
    Every time I open the tin with this tea inside, I remember why it's one of my favorites to keep around as an everyday green tea. Otsūsan is delicious and quite affordable. It's a touch sweeter than its cousin Musashi (which is also very tasty)—and at this price, I don't hesitate to fill a larger tin with 200 g of it.
  • Fred
    févr. 17, 2017, 16:28
    Very nice. Not as sweet as other stem teas, but the tartness is really pleasant.
  • uyen pham
    juil. 11, 2016, 23:44
    This one tastes great the first brew but you have to use a little more tea leaves. The second brew does not have the same taste.
  • Glenn Polin
    avril 3, 2016, 11:56
    I was disappointed in this tea (and still am, each time I try it). The heavenly fragrance I associate with my best sencha experiences is not there. I have tried using more or less leaves, all at 175 degrees, but the result is a flat taste, not fragrant, with this tart or slightly sour edge that others have tried to describe.

    I don't get any sense of gyokuro from this tea, and the feel of sencha is very subdued. And as someone else mentions, even the second brewing is indistinct, and the third very watery.

    I should say that I have tried other sencha blends (from other tea vendors), such as sencha with toasted rice, and have always been disappointed. These just dilute the sencha experience, which is wonderful with the right high quality tea. So this blend is another confirmation that for me, I should stick with straight sencha.
    O-Cha.com Japanese Green Tea & Matcha
    août 3, 2017, 10:42
    This is indeed a somewhat tart tea but this style and taste is very popular where it originates in Uji and if you go there you will be served this kind of tea when you go visit tea houses. It is not supposed to be floral, even though it uses gyokuro stems. To make this properly you make it with a lot of leaf and the first infusion is the best for sure. Technique is important when making this tea.