Chiran Sencha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Chiran Sencha


Score: 4.97 (votes: 31)
Reviews: 28
28
Score: 4.97 (votes: 31)
Reviews: 28
 
Rating of votes (31)
5
 
 
30customers
4
 
 
1customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Nick Hardersen
    Jun 2, 2015, 07:40
    I've already written a review for this tea, BUT not for this year's SHINCHA. I normally prefer the organic, but wow, this shincha is truly amazing. I've had quite a few shinchas this season and this is one of my favorites! brew at 175 (although they recommend 160.... refer to my review below) and you will be absolutely delighted. So grassy. So full of life. and stands up well into the third steep.
  • Nick Hardersen
    Feb 24, 2015, 12:00
    Chiran sencha is a phenomenal tea for the price. To be fair, I prefer the organic version that is deep steamed. It is one of my favorites from O-Cha... But that is not meant to take away from this tea. It is great. However, I found that the reccomened brew temperature of 160 degrees was way too low. This temperature did not offer anything in the cup. It was incredibly boring and dull. After playing around with it, I personally felt that 175 was perfect. The flavor completely explodes and leaves a long, long after taste. It is incredibly satisfying. It's also interesting that this tea is a chumushi... The leaves are quite broken up and it resembles a fukamushi much more, but that is neither here nor there. If they say it is mid-steamed then I have no doubt that is what it is. Maybe its just on the edge of mid and deep seemed. Anyways, this is a great tea. 175 degrees in 4 ounces of water for 1 minute and you're good to go. 
  • Carlos Obregon
    Sep 21, 2014, 09:30
    I am fairly new at green teas. I found a recommendation for this tea on teachat.com and I am glad I ordered it!  The best tasting Sencha I have ever tried. Period. 
  • Reggie Wyatt
    Feb 25, 2014, 14:24
    On second thought, 160 degrees pulls out the flavor better. 150 is too weak.
  • Robert Connon
    Feb 21, 2014, 12:00
    A very nice, very interesting tea! Get what you pay for, if not a bit more! 
  • Reggie Wyatt
    Feb 7, 2014, 12:00
    When I first opened the bag the aroma at first reminded me of genmaicha (which is typically a lower quality tea) but it was complex enough to build my anticipation. But when I brewed my first cup... what a surprise! This tea, if brewed right, has a very beefy flavor to it; I mean that after my typical three steepings, I feel like I've eaten a meal. It doesn't have that 'Sea' aroma that I look for in a green tea but definitely has more of a rich buttery mouth-feel. This is my mainstay for green tea right now... Very, very delicious!

    Advantages: Flavor is well worth any disadvantage.
    This would be a good precursor to buy before buying the Uji Matcha Taiko-San (which has an even stronger buttery/escargot profile). 

    Disadvantages: The brewing is kind of like gyokuro. Higher leaf to water ratio than normal sencha and if the temperature is too hot, the flavor goes stagnant. I would say 150 degrees or less and you might have to play around with the amount of tea leaf to get the beefiness of it.
  • Juhaveikko Ala-Juusela
    Jan 3, 2014, 12:00
    I really like this tea. It has great grassy and black currantish aroma. I usually order one pack of this and experience with some other sencha. None of the others has so far beaten this one. 
  • Steen Nielsen
    Jun 30, 2013, 12:00
    In my opinion the Chiran Sencha/Shincha is my absolute nr.1 i think it is one of the very best teas that O-cha have, and i have tried them all, i allways get a perfekt brew out of this one, and it is cheap too, so 5 stars for the Chiran

    Well sometimes i try the exspensiv stuff too, but the Chiran is allways the tea that i finish first. I just ordered another 300 gram´s of Chiran again, and just in time i guess, cause the Shincha season is allmost finished for the Chiran Shincha.

    Thank you O-cha for your lovely tea, and please never stop selling the Chiran  ;)

    Advantages: One of O-cha´s absolute best tea´s, at least as good as their more exspensive one´s, and the price is very good!! 

    Disadvantages: I can´t find any disadvantages about this tea, maybe if you a new to sencha then it can be a little tricky to find the perfekt amount of tea to go in the pot, but after a few trials and errors you figure it out quite fast :-)