Manten Uji Matcha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Uji Matcha Manten


Score: 4.93 (votes: 30)
Reviews: 27
27
Score: 4.93 (votes: 30)
Reviews: 27
 
Rating of votes (30)
5
 
 
28customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Hee@@@@
    Apr 21, 2016, 18:29
    My Matcha to go to everytime I need a boost .. Best Quality is what u get on this one ... No bitterness ... Very calming after drinking ... My favorite of all matcha ... Thumbs up for O-Cha on selling this matcha ! Thank you ...
  • Nat W
    Apr 12, 2016, 06:31
    This has to be my favourite matcha. It falls through a matcha sieve with barely any effort at all on your part because the powder is so fine! The best part is when you receive a new batch and cut the foil open and sniff deeply. Manten just smells so amazing and it froths so well.
  • Tim H
    Apr 6, 2016, 21:10
    Worth every penny
  • Amanda
    Mar 18, 2016, 12:46
    The powder itself smells so heavenly: extremely rich, slightly vegetal and sweet. I never tasted what the Japanese call the "umami taste" as I'm a vegetarian; however, I think I finally get a taste of "umami" with the Manten. The first drop that touches your tongue (Manten koicha) is somewhat bitter which disappears very quickly. There is this very very rich, green and long-lasting aftertaste. After drinking koicha Manten, I feel very relaxed and somewhat sleepy. The body feels fresh after drinking the Manten. I tried using this to make usucha; however, Manten is still best as koicha. My mum said after drinking Manten koicha, all other usucha can never compare with the taste of the Manten.
  • David Britton
    Jun 7, 2015, 22:43
    I've frequently purchased Uji Matcha Mantan since my first order with Ocha.com back in 2007.  It has always been superb but this latest batch is the best I've yet had.  Made hot or cold, there are no particles remaining in the tea bowl after drinking the matcha.  It completely dissolves with very little effort even when just taken out of the refrigerator.  I make it in the thin version and the color is a very deep green.  The scent, visuals and taste are all extremely fresh and satisfying.

    Advantages: Manten is significantly lower priced than when I first purchased it, making it not only one of the very best matchas but also a very good value. Exceptional when made hot or cold.
  • Jakub Sadowski
    Dec 2, 2014, 03:36
    Matcha Tea-Tasting Results (each cup had 1/4TSP Matcha+2oz Western Family Demineralized Water@68°C for each cup, and 1oz shot of warm honey-lemon-ginger tea from fresh ingredients as palate cleanser):

    6th Place, Tea Palace-Generic/Organic, $25/100g=$0.25/g, Flavour=2/5 Grit=5/5 Bitter=5/5

    5th Place, Jagasilk-Matcha Owl, $25/20g=$1.25/g, Flavour=3/5 Grit=3/5 Bitter=4/5

    4th Place (1st Place in Bang-for-Buck), O-Cha-Kaoru Supreme/Organic, $31/30g=$1.05/g, Flavour=3/5 Grit=4/5 Bitter=3/5

    3rd Place, Jagasilk-Matcha Eagle, $45/20g=$2.25/g, Flavour=3/5 Grit=3/5 Bitter=3/5

    2nd Place, O-Cha-Uji Matcha Taiko-San, $59/20g=$2.95/g, Flavour=5/5 Grit=1/5 Bitter=2/5, all judges agreed the bitterness resulted in a more "full bodied" Matcha taste but bitterness isn't something most were willing to reward.

    1st Place, O-Cha-Uji Matcha Manten, $54/20g=$2.70/g, Flavour=5/5 Grit=1/5 Bitter=1/5

    Advantages: Strong & evident matcha flavour, not gritty, no unpleasant bitterness
  • Verified Past Customer
    Sep 6, 2014, 10:55
    It has a beautiful vegetal and slightly floral taste. I drink Matcha every morning. I've tried others and enjoyed them deeply. I really enjoy this one and it's subtle difference from the others. It is worth every single penny. What an incredible edition to my Match obsession. 

    Advantages: It has a gorgeous flavor and a thick froth
  • Thaneadpol Burapaskul
    Feb 14, 2014, 17:28
    This is one of the best in the market but a little bit pricey. It has some bitter balance that make it perfects for mild usucha but I find it is slightly too bitter for my taste as koicha. Umami wise, is good, but I hope for better at this price. The powder is, nonetheless, so refined and is very rare to see any lump after whisking. 

    Advantages: Very good matcha. Very fine powder. 

    Disadvantages: Price is a bit too high.
  • Matjaž Muhič
    Oct 28, 2013, 05:17
    Definitely one of the best I ever tried. :)
  • Piyathida LERTLIT
    Sep 28, 2013, 16:01
    Beautiful! The matcha powder is super fine and emerald green. Very balanced: delicate, smooth, and gentle, yet this is where it definitely stands out from other matchas. Simply delicious that you would want to just drink again and again. I like that there is no after taste and the mouth always stay fresh. Perfect daily matcha! Thank you O-Cha!

    Advantages: Perfect cup everytime. 

    Disadvantages: Limited quantities. 
    Hard to find.