Toyo Mukashi Uji Matcha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Uji Matcha Toyo Mukashi


Score: 4.76 (votes: 42)
Reviews: 32
32
Score: 4.76 (votes: 42)
Reviews: 32
 
Rating of votes (42)
5
 
 
34customers
4
 
 
6customers
3
 
 
2customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Tõnu
    May 1, 2016, 21:35
    I have been tried all the O-Cha matchas for the last 2 years and Toyo Mukashi is one of my favorite everyday matcha. Toyo Mukashi is ideal for usucha (thin matcha) and really great quality matcha for its price.
  • Laura Mullins
    Apr 22, 2016, 05:22
    I also ordered the Kiku along with this and I was extremely satisfied with both. This one was also extremely fresh, vibrant green, easy to whip into a froth, and delicious with no bitterness that i noticed. I sincerely appreciate the affordability and will continue to buy more in the future! Thanks!!
  • Natalie Wooding
    Apr 12, 2016, 06:37
    I've ordered both the Chiyo Mukashi and this one. I was expecting there to be a massive difference in the taste and quality, considering that this one is half the price of the amazing Chiyo Mukashi, but to be honest, I can't taste much difference between the two so I find this one to be excellent value for the money. I would say that the taste and appearance is extremely similar to the Chiyo Mukashi. I've ordered them both at different times, though, so I think I will order them both together at some point to see if there really is a great difference. In any case, this is an extremely great quality matcha for its price. I love it!

    (O-Cha.com staff note - you may not notice much of a difference until you try to make thick tea (koicha), then you will notice the difference. Chiyo Mukashi will work for koicha, Toyo Mukashi may not.)
  • Alberto Bizzini
    Mar 31, 2016, 21:30
    Delicious matcha! Good balance of quality and price.
  • Chantelle
    Feb 29, 2016, 09:15
    Amazing! It is a beautiful bright green and tastes delicious!
  • Oystein Flobak
    Feb 22, 2016, 02:28
    The best-buy macha you get. I have been useing this for the last 3 years, on daily basis.
  • Lucas Holland
    Feb 18, 2016, 00:47
    Compared to the average matcha available outside Japan (including so called "ceremonial grade" matchas) this one is excellent value for money. It's got nice grassiness and umami. Overall, a really well balanced matcha that is a no-brainer for the money. I'd always recommend ordering matcha (and other Japanese greens but matcha in particular) directly from Japan as you tend to get a higher quality product for a better price. This matcha is a perfect example of that principle.
  • Aafke Brouwer
    Jan 22, 2016, 01:53
    I keep coming back to the Toyo Mukashi. I love this matcha. Very smooth.
    Slightly grassy. If you have used store brought matcha before and then try the O-cha teas you will never go back.
  • FRANCOIS C
    Dec 30, 2014, 05:42
    I found this matcha to be more grassy, but also more bitter, than Kyou Mukashi, which tastes sweeter to me. Both are delicious and similarly priced; it all depends on the flavour profile one is seeking.
  • Ryan Robbins
    Sep 5, 2014, 04:04
    Wonderful matcha to be had here.

    Perhaps this one (Toyo Mukashi) is slightly more smooth than Kyou Mukashi, and Kyou Mukashi is slightly more complex than Toyo Mukashi.

    Both are really good, and it's going to be totally subjective which one you prefer.

    Both are a win. Delicious stuff.