Oku Midori
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Oku Midori


Score: 4.90 (votes: 10)
Reviews: 9
9
Score: 4.90 (votes: 10)
Reviews: 9
 
Rating of votes (10)
5
 
 
9customers
4
 
 
1customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Only registered customers who purchased this product can leave feedback
  • Kurt Grace
    Jan 30, 2017, 08:28
    This tea is the best sencha I have ever had. It is a deep flavor, so be ready for that. I steep maybe 2 minutes first steeping, then the next 3, no time at all. The package arrived in Texas in 7 days, including the weekend. I will be ordering from o-cha for the rest of my life.
  • Thomas Dooner
    Jan 27, 2017, 03:05
    My 3rd order from O-Cha. Really enjoyed Sencha Yutaka Midori and especially Orgainic Kirishima Sencha. I found Oku Midori aroma was weak when I opened package and subsequently the taste flat. Changed water temps, infusion times, water and amount of tea but did not change taste. Surprised and very disappointed w/this choice. Will order again but go back to what I liked.
  • Deborah Cleary
    Jan 12, 2017, 03:48
    This is my current favorite. It has a lovely grassy note and a beautiful green color. I found the best infusion time for me on the first brew was 45 to 50 seconds and 35 seconds for the second brew. The particles are very small so be sure to use a teapot for the deep steamed variety, one that catches these small bits.
  • Steve Barry
    Nov 23, 2016, 20:03
    If you like a strong, grassy tea, this one is consistently at the top of my list. I have ordered many teas (all prices) from o-cha.com and I keep coming back to this one. My brew times are 60s-30s-90s. Many thanks to o-cha.com for giving me access to truly exceptional teas.
  • CMD
    May 1, 2016, 00:53
    If you like deep green, grassy slightly sweet green tea, you'll love this. Super fragrant when you open the packet. To my mind it needs a short brew time, say one minute, and a little experimentation to get it to your own exact preference, but it's worth the effort. At this price point I think it deserves 5 stars.
  • Juras Ancevicius
    Feb 26, 2016, 09:13
    One of the best teas I had. Tastes well, has a rich green colour, smells really good. Although I would say not to eat anything sweet before drinking it, to experience the natural sweetness of the tea and appreciate taste to its fullest. Also, can't stress enough how important it is to use good quality water, it makes a big difference ( not to mention a good tea set ).
  • Matthew
    Feb 9, 2016, 03:15
    I've ordered probably ten different teas from O-cha.com, and this is my favorite. Beautiful color, easy to brew, wonderful second steep (my favorite!), and the flavor is complex but still approachable. The dry leaves have a wonderful aroma, too.
  • Jamie Trusty
    Jun 28, 2015, 01:56
    Fragrant and delicious. Advantages: Was surprised by the black cherry aroma when I opened the bag. On brewing, the result was a thick broth characteristic of high quality fukamushi. Compared to the Yutaka Midori I usually drink, this is more subtle. There is less vegetable taste but it is more mild and fragrant. Overall excellent tea, glad I decided to try it.
  • Griffin Earle
    Jun 18, 2015, 01:47
    Oku Midori is a great example of deep steamed sencha. The strong aroma, brothy/grassy taste, and present --but not overwhelming-- astringency makes me think this tea could contend for the title of The Embodiment of Fukamushi. While I haven't settled on precise brewing parameters yet, I would strongly recommend very short infusions in the ball park of ~40s for the 1st, ~0s for the 2nd, and ~20s for the 3rd. Also just one note, I rated this 5/5 because it's not possible to rate in half star increments. More accurately I would give it 4.5/5. This is a really great sencha, but I don't think it's absolute perfection.