Sayamakaori Organic Sencha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Sayamakaori Organic Sencha


Score: 4.47 (votes: 15)
Reviews: 13
13
Score: 4.47 (votes: 15)
Reviews: 13
 
Rating of votes (15)
5
 
 
7customers
4
 
 
8customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Toby Klinger
    Sep 15, 2017, 20:20
    Great tea at a bargain price!
  • Alessio Coletta
    Jul 5, 2017, 05:30
    Subtle umami taste, minimal astringency, and pretty sweet flavour. It is not one of my favourite sencha because it is not as vegetal and grassy as the others, but it is quite a good alternative for a perfect afternoon break!
  • Julian Milillo
    Jun 13, 2017, 20:38
    This tea is a little more fussy when compared to other teas described as medium brew difficulty. Definitely less is more with this tea. Temperature can drop below the recommended level but DO NOT go over it. Bitters very easily. Same for length of time. The package recommends 45 seconds and that is should be a firm rule when brewing. No more, No less. However for all this hard work to get it just right the payoff isn't great. Even when brewed correctly something falls a little flat. Still a nice tea, but with how much care it requires I'll find something a little more forgiving.
  • Brian Thompson
    May 16, 2017, 12:08
    This is a very bold sencha with strong flavor and aroma. I taste mulberry, dark chocolate, bitter greens, flowers, and grass.
    Perfect for mornings. 4 stars for flavor and an extra star for the price and 5 infusions.
  • aspi
    May 3, 2017, 21:36
    This is quite good sencha,I like especially the first infusion where is the most sweetness of it. Because there is more dust and small particles the next ifusions have to be prepared more carefully and the liquor is not much clear. But it is good sencha for its price and it is worth the experience.
  • Grant Glidden
    Feb 24, 2017, 12:55
    Great price for a good sencha. Definitely some stems, and it's not the sweetest or most delicate flavor, but it wakes me up in the morning, tastes wonderful, and is a great bargain.
  • Geoff Beaver
    Jan 30, 2017, 00:01
    This tea is actually not fully processed/sorted so you end up with some smaller particles as well as some stems. I didn't realize this initially. I usually get different brews each time due to the nature of it being unsorted, and I've found I have to be gentle brewing it. It's probably more potent and vegetal when it's more fresh, during the growing season but I've found I can get decent flavor. It does usually always have some astringency. I usually end up infusing it about 4 times; a couple shorter first steeps followed by some longer ones to finish does alright. Overall I hoped it would have had more of a grassy aroma, but it's decent for what it is.
  • Aleksandar Kovač
    Oct 18, 2016, 01:45
    Opening the bag you'll encounter very intense but at the same time pleasing grassy aroma of the leaves which happen to be light green in colour. Here and there you'll notice stems which are lighter in colour and give this tea more natural look while you inspect it.

    Tea itself is mildly sweet and has a pleasing flavor. Using recommended brewing parameters, I encountered decent but not overwhelming astringent punch. Umami "runs away" quickly but it's there. It's light (green) in colour as well as in taste (almost like asamushi) but it has decent roundness. I prefered brewing it at the slightly higher tempereatures and for shorter periods of time to extract the most out of it and I was not dissapointed.

    Very nice organic green tea with floral aroma and subtle but "sincere" flavor. I like drinking it especially after my workouts- combining already elevated levels of endorphins with theanine and catehins from green tea is the way to go.
  • Finn Philipsen
    Jun 17, 2016, 01:44
    For me, a poor student that enjoys good tea, this one is really good. I can get up to 5 infusions out of it and the taste is still really nice!
  • Wendy A. Ott
    Mar 17, 2016, 01:44
    This is my first tasting of this tea. It has nice clean, refreshing, and grassy flavor. The first steeping was somewhat astringent. After several times steeping it still has great flavor. Great value and great teas! I love ordering and trying new teas from O-Cha.