Toyo Mukashi Uji Matcha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Toyo Mukashi Uji Matcha

Score: 4.84 (votes: 31)
Reviews: 27
Score: 4.84 (votes: 31)
Reviews: 27
Rating of votes (31)
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Jared Konoske
    Oct 21, 2016, 05:37
    First off, I'll say I've had 4-5 of the Matcha types from O-Cha, all of them below $20 or so. This one is, without a doubt, my favorite. It is so smooth, so tasty, and lacks any kind of astringency or harshness. I'm also a big fan of the Kiri no Mori, but this Matcha is absolutely better to me. For a few dollars more than the Kiri no Mori, I'd say it's as good a value, maybe even better due to it's perceptible increase in quality. I will definitely order more of this in the future, as Match is my favorite beverage, and this type is my favorite Matcha I've tried. I will never buy a $50 tin of Matcha, so for me, this is as good as it gets. Highly recommended.
  • Ming Sung Tan
    Oct 20, 2016, 15:01
    When I opened this, it had a smooth lovely aroma no discernible smell of chemicals inside. I have a very sharp nose and Matchas which use a lot of pesticide will hurt my nose. The Astringency and bitterness is low and smooth which disappears quick and it has easily discernible vegetal taste to it. Very lovely Matcha overall. The price is really impressive for the quality.
  • David Gordon
    Jul 21, 2016, 12:23
    As a regular matcha drinker (twice every day) I have tried tea from a number of different producers. This is among the best I have tried - taste, affordability and appearance all score high. I will be buying more
  • Tim H
    May 16, 2016, 00:18
    A noticeably higher theanine content than Kyou and Kiku Mukashi.
    Very smooth and delicate flavour, a good mid-day matcha.
  • John Lebel
    May 15, 2016, 03:04
    This matcha is very, very good. At this price it is outstanding!
  • Tõnu
    May 1, 2016, 21:35
    I have been tried all the O-Cha matchas for the last 2 years and Toyo Mukashi is one of my favorite everyday matcha. Toyo Mukashi is ideal for usucha (thin matcha) and really great quality matcha for its price.
  • Laura Mullins
    Apr 22, 2016, 05:22
    I also ordered the Kiku along with this and I was extremely satisfied with both. This one was also extremely fresh, vibrant green, easy to whip into a froth, and delicious with no bitterness that i noticed. I sincerely appreciate the affordability and will continue to buy more in the future! Thanks!!
  • Natalie Wooding
    Apr 12, 2016, 06:37
    I've ordered both the Chiyo Mukashi and this one. I was expecting there to be a massive difference in the taste and quality, considering that this one is half the price of the amazing Chiyo Mukashi, but to be honest, I can't taste much difference between the two so I find this one to be excellent value for the money. I would say that the taste and appearance is extremely similar to the Chiyo Mukashi. I've ordered them both at different times, though, so I think I will order them both together at some point to see if there really is a great difference. In any case, this is an extremely great quality matcha for its price. I love it!

    ( staff note - you may not notice much of a difference until you try to make thick tea (koicha), then you will notice the difference. Chiyo Mukashi will work for koicha, Toyo Mukashi may not.)
  • Alberto Bizzini
    Mar 31, 2016, 21:30
    Delicious matcha! Good balance of quality and price.
  • Chantelle
    Feb 29, 2016, 09:15
    Amazing! It is a beautiful bright green and tastes delicious!