Yutaka Midori Sencha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Yutaka Midori Sencha


Score: 4.87 (votes: 60)
Reviews: 53
53
Score: 4.87 (votes: 60)
Reviews: 53
 
Rating of votes (60)
5
 
 
53customers
4
 
 
6customers
3
 
 
1customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Jonathan Wills
    May 17, 2015, 18:54
    I love this Sencha tea. It was so fresh when it came out of the package that the leaves were still soft to the spoon. Most tea will make a little rustle noise or be a little dry, not this, it was still moist and fresh and green.

    My first 32 ounce kettle that I steeped of this was super. It was a green color with a good flavor and good thickness. The sencha was very energizing yet mild enough that I could drink it all day.

    My second steep was a mix color of green and yellow. Still good and to be honest this tea's second steep is as good as most lesser tea's first steep!

    I have done a third and fourth steep before, but those definitely begin to lose the character that makes these tea so wonderful. 

    So in short, I think this is the best Sencha I have tried, however I have only tried two from O-cha and about two dozen from local stores, three from local tea shops. 

    Kagashima Sencha is definitely a class above all of them though and I would say if you like green tea I doubt you would be disappointed in this tea.
  • Nick Hardersen
    May 11, 2015, 04:34
    2015 shincha is fantastic. Enough said.
  • Alex Gyarmaty
    Jan 13, 2015, 13:12
    5 Stars, my favorite. Rich, very green and sweet. Second infusion has different profile, but every bit as satisfying as the first. 
  • Roni Muench
    Nov 13, 2014, 08:27
    Very good. I have never purchased green tea from any store, even high end, that compares to the products I have tried from this site.  Even the less expensive tea bags surpassed other products.
  • Matjaz Divjak
    Aug 25, 2014, 20:30
    Fantastic tea, one of the best Japanese green teas (for my taste). Very intense, with strong grassy, floral/fruity and umami notes. Thick, cloudy, vibrant green liquid (fukamushi style). For first steep, I usually use 5 grams of tea in 60 deg C water for 40 seconds. 20 - 25 seconds for the second steep, 45 - 50 for third.
  • Richard Aikman
    Aug 20, 2014, 18:03
    Absolutely fantastic fukamushi, believe all of the reviews on here, it really is quite something! 
  • Tristan Bayer
    Jul 29, 2014, 09:09
    This is the first fukamushi I have tried and I am most definitely not disappointing! This tea is simply delicious!

    First infushion at 77 Celcius for 45 seconds is perfect. Second infusion 20 seconds at same temperature.

    When they say fukamushi has small particles, they mean it. If you don't like small bits in your tea, get the appropriate teapot to brew it in. Personally, I just let it sit for a moment and all the particles sink to the bottom.

    Give this one a try!
  • Nick Hardersen
    Apr 21, 2014, 10:30
    This was my first fukamushi and I absolutely love it! I've always gotten asamushi and chumushi before and for whatever reason I had never tried a deep steamed tea. I sadly do not have a kyusu made specifically for fukamushis, but the extra tea particles that come through my clay screen are completely okay with me. All I know is that this sencha is top quality and delicious. I could seriously drink it all day and not get tired of it. Please buy this!
  • Alex Woodland
    Apr 18, 2014, 20:21
    There's a reason this tea has 18 Five-Star reviews. Its utterly superb. Deep, rich and smooth. Everything I love in a sencha. Grab some!

  • Robert mckee
    Oct 10, 2013, 11:30
    This was my favorite tea, of three from here I tried..but in fairness was about equal, although very different from the expensive gyokuro ($58). 

    I did not feel that this tea is extra sensitive to steeping too long (as someone said).. But I am steeping at 170F..  I am just now having the last hit from this bag..  

    For comparison purposes, Im used to fine senchas (similar to fukamushi).  

    I tried the shincha first time (version of fukamushi).. Found it too harsh for my sensitive stomach (letting it age a bit.. hopefully since I let air in, it will still me OK).. I believe tea is hard on stomachs in general (if you are sensitive), but this tea seemed less so..