My location: United States
Previous image
Kagoshima Sencha Yutaka Midori
Next image
Zoom image

Kagoshima Sencha Yutaka Midori


Score: 5.00. Votes: 32

From the first harvest, a very special sencha from Kagoshima prefecture located at the southern tip of Japan. Kagoshima Sencha Yutaka Midori - Undoubtedly one of our most most popular green teas, this item is definitely a favorite with green tea connoisseurs. This year's version hails from Ei Town. Yutaka Midori is an exceptionally "green" green tea. We urge you to compare this sencha against any of the others available on the internet for it's nice emerald green color, wonderful aroma, and excellent taste. The reviews speak for themselves!

Available in 100 gram packages.

This product is also available for automatic monthly delivery!

In stock
  • $23.50 USD
You will earn up to 25 reward points after purchasing this product.
Qty:  
Add a different product to compare
  • Weight
    110 g
  • SKU
    16511
  • Loose Leaf
    • Ease of Brewing
      Medium - Brew w/ care
    • Net Weight
      100 g / 3.52 oz
    • Growing Region
      100% Kagoshima Prefecture
    • Year
      2016
    • Harvest
      First and/or Shincha
    • Breed
      Yutaka Midori
    • Shading
      Full Sun
    • Steaming
      Deep
    • Color
      Deep Green
    • Aroma
      Medium
    • Taste
      Grassy
    • Astringency
      Medium
    • Clarity
      Thick/Cloudy
    • First infusions per Pkg
      22
    • Leaf (dry weight grams) to Water (1 fl oz / 30 ml) Ratio (recommended)
      .6 g to 1 oz/30 ml
    • Brew Temp (℃/℉ - recommended )
      77℃ (170℉)
    • Brew Time (Seconds)
      45-60
    • Notes
      A legendary green tea, one of our very best
Customer reviews
Average rating:

Score: 5.00. Votes: 32
Rating of votes (32)
5
 
32 customers
4
 
 
0 customers
3
 
 
0 customers
2
 
 
0 customers
1
 
 
0 customers
 
  • Mike Shepherd
    Apr 19, 2016, 02:45
    This is the best tasting and freshest Sencha I have found so far - and I've tried many! It is very flavorful with rich grassy notes.
  • Tory Davis
    Mar 14, 2016, 23:41
    Excellent tea! I always find myself coming back to order more. It's pretty easy to brew, I like it around 150deg for about 30s for the first steep, then about 10s for the second.
  • Oliver Frank
    Mar 5, 2016, 03:41
    Same high quality as Kagoshima Sencha Sae Midori. Highly to be recommended! Triple AAA
  • Mate Zec
    Mar 4, 2016, 06:11
    Much has been said already about how good this tea is -- I can only add that, in my opinion, it deserves every bit of praise that it gets. Lush, flavourful, wonderful tea.
  • Chakranant Na Songkhla
    Feb 13, 2016, 02:08
    This is my best favourite tea in this store. I bought Kagoshima Sencha Yutaka Midori for more than 10 times. Never disappoint in this tea.
  • Lucas Holland
    Feb 10, 2016, 21:54
    This tea is a very nice fukamushi sencha. It's got a pleasant, grassy flavour profile and is a good daily drinker. I used a higher leaf-to-water ratio than suggested and was able to get 3 good infusions out of it before the fresh grassiness was displaced by a more vegetal taste (which is still nice).
  • Catherine Fitzgibbons
    Feb 9, 2016, 00:47
    This tea is nice and mild, not bitter. It has a slightly sweet, milder flavor and a brilliant green color. You can smell the fresh tea as soon as you open the bag. The tea leaves are soft and brilliant green, full of vitamins. This tea is great for breakfast, a healthy, mild and satisfying start to the day.
  • Marco Barluzzi
    Jul 3, 2015, 02:15
    As everyone says it's very good, fresh and delicate. You can brew it many times and every one is as good as the first one; probably the second one is my favourite. I think I prefer colder water than suggested, around 70°, but if the teapot is cold it can happen I use hotter water too. Advantages: Good for all day  Disadvantages: A little expensive maybe, but not too much after all

Product questions

  • Lucas Holland
    Apr 29, 2016, 19:17

    Hi,

    I just received this tea, thanks your great service as usual. I'm wondering if there's any way of telling whether I did really get the 2016 shincha version of this tea (maybe something on the packaging?).

    Thanks!

    O-Cha.com Staff
    Apr 29, 2016, 19:18

    Hi,

    Look for the sticker in Japanese with this characters: ”新茶” (Shincha)

  • Oliver Frank
    Feb 29, 2016, 08:27

    Hi!

    I have bought this tea and also the Kagoshima Sencha Sae Midori. I think both of these teas are great! I wondered what's the difference between the two teas? For me they seem almost the same - just great! :-)

    O-Cha.com Staff
    Feb 29, 2016, 14:27

    Both of these green teas are considered deep steamed but to different degrees - the Sae Midori is greener in color, very cloudy, more deeply steamed, but less aromatic than Yutaka Midori. Sae Midori is also much easier to brew and it is not as astringent. The Yutaka Midori is not quite as green in color, however it is more aromatic, has more flavor, and is bolder.

  • Alex Bevis
    Dec 9, 2015, 06:35

    Is the recommended brewing temperature the temperature of the water prior to pouring into the kyusu or after pouring into the kyusu? i.e. if the recommended temperature is 170F should you pour 170F water into the pot or use hotter water so that the final temperature in the pot is 177F.

    O-Cha.com Staff
    Dec 10, 2015, 05:23

    The recommended brewing temperature is the temperature after pouring into the kyushu.  So you should compensate by using hotter water than the recommended temperature, and first pour into either your teacups (which will pre-warm them) and or also into your teapot before adding tea to drop the temperature. If the recommended brew temperature is 170 F, you should start with water around 180 F or even a bit higher.  How much pre-heating of the teacups and teapot depends on the type of tea, the kinds and sizes of the vessels, your starting temperature. Each time you transfer the hot water from one vessel to another the temperature will drop by about 10 degrees.  It's often a good idea for beginners to use a thermometer during each step so they can get an idea of what is occurring. Pouring 180 F water into a cold teapot will drop the temperature by at least 10 F, perhaps more. This is probably the trickiest part of making the perfect cup of green tea and it takes practice to perfect it.

Customers who bought this product also bought
Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your bag
  • Drag and drop me to the bag Product is out of stock Choose the product options first
    Coming soon...
    The product is unavailable in the catalog
    • Popular!
    • Shincha!
    • $21.62 USD

    Score: 4.87. Votes: 15
    23
    Add a different product to compare
    • New!
  • Drag and drop me to the bag Product is out of stock Choose the product options first
    Coming soon...
    The product is unavailable in the catalog
    • Popular!
    • $16.92 USD

    Score: 4.89. Votes: 9
    18
    Add a different product to compare
  • Drag and drop me to the bag Product is out of stock Choose the product options first
    Coming soon...
    The product is unavailable in the catalog
    • Popular!
    • $21.62 USD

    Score: 5.00. Votes: 14
    23
    Add a different product to compare
  • Drag and drop me to the bag Product is out of stock Choose the product options first
    Coming soon...
    The product is unavailable in the catalog
    • Popular!
    • $15.04 USD

    Score: 4.81. Votes: 16
    16
    Add a different product to compare
Related products
Drop items here to shop
Product has been added to your bag
  • Drag and drop me to the bag Product is out of stock Choose the product options first
    Coming soon...
    The product is unavailable in the catalog
    • Popular!
    • $16.92 USD

    Score: 4.89. Votes: 9
    18
    Add a different product to compare
  • Drag and drop me to the bag Product is out of stock Choose the product options first
    Coming soon...
    The product is unavailable in the catalog
    • $21.62 USD

    Score: 5.00. Votes: 2
    23
    Add a different product to compare