Yame Gyokuro
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Yame Gyokuro


Score: 4.76 (votes: 37)
Reviews: 32
32
Score: 4.76 (votes: 37)
Reviews: 32
 
Rating of votes (37)
5
 
 
29customers
4
 
 
7customers
3
 
 
1customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Alex Gyarmaty
    Jan 13, 2015, 13:02
    Intensely grassy up front with ocean notes, followed by lingering sweetness. Second cup grassiness is not so intense, but nicely balanced with the sweet finish.
  • Georgios Somakos
    Nov 30, 2014, 22:17
    This was my first Gyokuro from O-Cha and made every Gyokuro I had ever tried seem like trash. Practically no bitterness although one must take care by brewing. For me it has the best value/price ratio from all the   O-cha Gyokuro although it lacks in "umami" when compared to the more expensive ones. I always brew at exactly 80C. 70 degrees will result in loss of flavour and 90 degrees bring some bitterness.
  • Nick Hardersen
    Jul 23, 2014, 03:06
    This is a great little gyokuro, and you really can not go wrong with the price. Brilliant for what you get! I can easily get 4 brews out of the same serving. The first cup has lots of umami and is light but still very, very tasty. The second cup is just exploding with flavor, very tasty but very, very strong. Love it! One of the reviewers below said that 135 degrees was the best temperature and I would have to strongly disagree, or at least my taste buds do. The O-cha reccomended brewing temp of 140 is without a doubt the best for the first cup, and then add 10 degrees for each successive steep- and maybe 20 for the last one. I'll definitely be buying this gyokuro again :) 
  • Winifred Leung
    May 17, 2014, 20:26
    My first gyokuro and it is lovely. Thick flavorful first brew with great umami taste. Can get 4-5 infusions in my small shibo.
  • Russell Karbach
    Mar 18, 2014, 23:50
    Always consistent .....as many say 'great 
    daily Gyokuro..I alternate between Yame
    and Sho-un
  • Paul Paro
    Aug 13, 2013, 07:58
    Good daily Gyokuro, that lovely sweet taste in a less-expensive package. Though Gyokuros are known as hard to brew, this one is rather forgiving for the beginner, and makes a lovely cold brew if you can't tell your shrimp eyes from a rolling boil. Definitely a good introduction to people who think green teas are bitter and need a spoonful of sugar, I'd cry if I saw someone putting even a grain of sugar in my cup!
  • Florian Zerobin
    Apr 18, 2013, 12:00
    A very intense gyokuro tea! Recommended.
  • Jens Evensen
    Apr 2, 2013, 05:42
    This is my every-day tea. Have to be brewed with care. Nice taste once you find out.
  • James Grove
    Dec 28, 2012, 12:00
    If you love the umami taste to gyokuro, choose this tea. If you prefer a sweeter or tartier gyokuro, consider otherwise.

    If you are to brew it, however, keep in mind that it is a very finicky tea, and is very prone to bitterness.

    I suggest a different brewing procedure to the above. Brew at a lower temperature, approximately 135F (this might not seem like much of a difference, but trust me- it is). Use 1.0-1.1 grams per ounce, not the suggested 1.2 grams. Brew for two minutes as suggested.

    Despite the seemingly harsh tone to this review, I actually love this tea, and I look forward every day to drinking it. I would advise everyone to try it at least once, if not for anything else but that quintessential umami taste.
  • Adam Yusko
    Jun 6, 2011, 09:00
    What amazed me about the Yame is how willing it was to accept variations in brewing technique and style. Gyokuro can tend to be on the fussier side, but Yame definitely is not all that fussy. 

    Not to mention it is an extremely wonderful tasting tea, that gives you a good idea of what Gyokuro is about.

    Yame is an excellent Starter Gyokuro.