Uji Matcha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Uji Matcha Taiko-San


Score: 5.00 (votes: 26)
Reviews: 22
22
Score: 5.00 (votes: 26)
Reviews: 22
 
Rating of votes (26)
5
 
26customers
4
 
 
0customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • John Priestley II
    Mar 22, 2017, 02:09
    O-Cha.com never fails to offer only the finest green tea available. I found it difficult to believe that a better matcha than Manten could exist. Taikosan was touted as being superior, and the advertisement was absolutely true. It is the best I have ever enjoyed! It turns into delicious, jade froth when prepared by an experienced hand. The taste and aroma are unique, with a pleasant, lingering flavor on the tongue. If you desire to raise your matcha game to new heights, you must try Taikosan (when available).
  • Robin Dao
    Feb 6, 2017, 06:02
    I've been buying this specific matcha tea for the last 2 years and it's amazing. Nothing has compared to this caliber of matcha tea. Do it! Buy it! Do it now, prepare to be spoiled and never buy any other matcha tea because they don't compare to this one.
  • Tim H
    Apr 6, 2016, 21:13
    Quite easily the best matcha i have ever tasted! This stuff is on another level and blew my mind! Epic flavour.
  • Hee@@@@
    Apr 2, 2016, 08:08
    Fast delivery ...this matcha is Very smooth n no bitter taste ...one of the best I ever tasted ... Worth every penny
  • John Lebel
    Mar 21, 2016, 22:32
    A superb matcha! Worth the money and the customer service was great--I'll be reordering from O-cha!
  • Jakub Sadowski
    Dec 2, 2014, 12:00
    Matcha Tea-Tasting Results (each cup had 1/4TSP Matcha+2oz Western Family Demineralized Water@68°C for each cup, and 1oz shot of warm honey-lemon-ginger tea from fresh ingredients as palate cleanser):

    6th Place, Tea Palace-Generic/Organic, $25/100g=$0.25/g, Flavour=2/5 Grit=5/5 Bitter=5/5

    5th Place, Jagasilk-Matcha Owl, $25/20g=$1.25/g, Flavour=3/5 Grit=3/5 Bitter=4/5

    4th Place (1st Place in Bang-for-Buck), O-Cha-Kaoru Supreme/Organic, $31/30g=$1.05/g, Flavour=3/5 Grit=4/5 Bitter=3/5

    3rd Place, Jagasilk-Matcha Eagle, $45/20g=$2.25/g, Flavour=3/5 Grit=3/5 Bitter=3/5

    2nd Place, O-Cha-Uji Matcha Taiko-San, $59/20g=$2.95/g, Flavour=5/5 Grit=1/5 Bitter=2/5, all judges agreed the bitterness resulted in a more "full bodied" Matcha taste but bitterness isn't something most were willing to reward

    1st Place, O-Cha-Uji Matcha Manten, $54/20g=$2.70/g, Flavour=5/5 Grit=1/5 Bitter=1/5

    Advantages: Strong & vibrant flavour, very smooth 

    Disadvantages: Slight bitterness (this may be deliberate for connoisseurs, however I'm not one to pay extra for that)
  • Susan Wilkes
    Oct 20, 2014, 17:20
    I bought this tea a while ago, and it was my first taste of Matcha. It's safe to say that it was the best green tea I had ever tasted. So fresh and creamy. If you have any doubts about the taste of this tea, it really is exquisite! Even though it's a little pricey, when you work it out as around £1 per cup, to the price you would pay in a cafe... then I certainly think it's worth it. Plus, it's so so good for you, and you can't put a price on good health. 

    Advantages: The taste is pure, rich and creamy. 

    Disadvantages: Having it Shipped from Japan isn't exactly Eco-Friendly! :( But I cant resist to indulge in this Tea. It gives you an insight into the heritage of Japan with every cup! :)
  • Jens Evensen
    Sep 5, 2014, 17:53
    I am not an tea expert but I drink green tea every day and have done so for many years. I love green tea from Japan! This matcha is in a class of its own. IMOH it is the best green tea I have tasted. A work af art.
  • Ben Middleton
    Apr 18, 2014, 18:24
    Having only recently discovered matcha this was my first experience of truly high-end tea and I have to say I was certainly not disappointed - this is nothing short of fantastic. I've now ordered some Manten to compare and can see myself settling on one or both as the 'only one for me'. I feel brighter and more energised throughout the day, just from one cup of thin tea first thing in the morning. Highly recommended.

    Advantages: It's fantastic! 

    Disadvantages: anything else (barring perhaps Manten) will seem a come-down by comparison...
  • Alen Zivanovic
    Feb 9, 2014, 12:00
    I am intrigued as to how this matcha can be made ‘just’ by growing, picking and grinding tea leafs - prepared as koicha it tastes amazing, overwhelming umami. As usucha taste is very rewarding as well, no competition. I am letting myself go with this order, preparing matcha both thin and thick and I am having matcha 3 times a day. Heaven. It will take time to accept standard matcha for anything more than excellent latte material, I am considering to make this my daily matcha and let go of the rest (yet to calculate impact on finances). Spectacular matcha.