Asagiri Karigane Gyokuro
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Asagiri Karigane Gyokuro


Score: 4.75 (votes: 12)
Reviews: 12
12
 
Score: 4.75 (votes: 12)
Reviews: 12
Rating of votes (12)
5
 
 
10customers
4
 
 
1customers
3
 
 
1customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Serge Perecrest
    Nov 28, 2017, 06:34
    Oily texture, amazing alkaline, sakura tang
  • Alessio Coletta
    Sep 26, 2017, 01:21
    It is very easy to brew, although I would recommend a lower-temperature infusion (around 60°C..). I manage to obtain quite a few infusions from this tea, and I have to admit it is one of my favourite ones! It is does not have any astringency (typical of Sencha), and it is sweet and vegetal.
  • Kuang-Yu Hsu
    Sep 14, 2017, 02:39
    Great tasting tea that's easy to brew! I can get two good steepings out of it. The third one on becomes a bit watery. It's definitely a great every day tea.
  • Jason Wheeler
    Apr 3, 2017, 03:58
    Great tea for the money! I enjoy this tea as as my daily drinker. I find that you definitely get two quality steeps out of each serving. Enjoy!
  • Jens Evensen
    Sep 8, 2016, 02:32
    A great tea! It is always a right moment to enjoy a cup of Asagiri. Also one of my favourite teas,
  • Nick Hardersen
    Dec 9, 2014, 06:27
    This tea is an interesting one. I give it 3 stars due to the fact that I find you must use a ton of leaf to get a good taste out of this tea. The amount of tea needed is just wasteful to be honest. Also, I have found that 2 quality steeps are about as much as you can hope to get out of this one. HOWEVER, when you do brew it correctly, which really has not been very hard, the taste is really phenomenal. The umami is insanely good. If this review was strictly for taste, I would give it 5 stars. But the fact that you have to use quite a lot of leaf (and even then it doesn't hold up well to many re-steeps). I would buy this one again if it was not for this. O-cha's teas are usually phenomenal, I just do not feel this one is worth the money. Just spend a few extra $$ and get some gyokuro. Their Yame gyokuro is great and not much more expensive. 
  • Milan Gerec
    Sep 11, 2014, 18:08
    Very nice gyokuro. I brew it first with 50°C hot water then 2 more times with 60° and 3rd time with boiling water. You can try one brew with 45° foor 5mins. 
  • Alexey Iskhakov
    Jan 27, 2014, 12:00
    Exellent  tea. It has such sweet taste with a small pitch of acidity, and great aftertaste. No astrigence at all.




    It is really hard to brew it with instructions provided on page. So, after some experimenting, I found that the best way to brew it with hot 85-89C water for 20 - 25 seconds. It allow two flushes without losing a taste, and taste is fading on after.
  • Anthony Sosso
    Jan 28, 2013, 10:30
    Only okay.  Definitely finicky with brewing temperature and times, so play around with it.  Generally somewhere in the 130-140 Fahrenheit range was best.
  • James Grove
    Dec 28, 2012, 12:00
    This is an easy gyokuro. It has everything that Japanese shincha has to offer, sweetness, tartiness, and that rich umami flavor. I say that this is an easy gyokuro, because it is neither of these things in excess. It is also very forgiving, and very easy to brew. I suggest using 1.0 grams/ounce, but it won't make much of a difference. Yet, for these very reasons, I prefer other gyokuros to this one. It lacks the full, clean taste of the other teas on this site, and, to me, feels very unrewarding.