Uji Green Tea Otsuusan
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Otsūsan Uji Sencha


Score: 3.90 (votes: 10)
Reviews: 10
10
Score: 3.90 (votes: 10)
Reviews: 10
 
Rating of votes (10)
5
 
 
3customers
4
 
 
3customers
3
 
 
4customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Only registered customers who purchased this product can leave feedback
  • Janet
    Aug 3, 2017, 03:46
    After experimentation, I decided that I preferred this tea brewed with very hard water and a higher brew temperature (about 90C). I also use a rounded 1T to 6oz water. Brewed as directed, it seemed rather flat to me. I tried making it with bottled water at both cooler and warmer temperatures and different amounts of leaf before deciding I preferred it at the higher temp with harder water (my tap water is very hard.) I also do the second infustion for 2 minutes and the third for 4 to 5 minutes. I also found I liked it made with tea treats better than sipping by itself. Hope that helps!
    O-Cha.com Japanese Green Tea & Matcha
    Aug 3, 2017, 10:37
    We think 90 C is too high for this. Brew time is also quite important. Over-boiling water will make tea taste flat, only bring the water to where it's simmering then turn it off. Cool the water down by first pouring the water into the cups, this will also add oxygen to the water. Technique is important.
  • Christophe FRISON
    Aug 1, 2017, 16:50
    One of the most delicious tea I've ever tasted. I recommand.
  • Cory
    May 23, 2017, 10:50
    Every time I open the tin with this tea inside, I remember why it's one of my favorites to keep around as an everyday green tea. Otsūsan is delicious and quite affordable. It's a touch sweeter than its cousin Musashi (which is also very tasty)—and at this price, I don't hesitate to fill a larger tin with 200 g of it.
  • Fred
    Feb 17, 2017, 16:28
    Very nice. Not as sweet as other stem teas, but the tartness is really pleasant.
  • uyen pham
    Jul 11, 2016, 23:44
    This one tastes great the first brew but you have to use a little more tea leaves. The second brew does not have the same taste.
  • Glenn Polin
    Apr 3, 2016, 11:56
    I was disappointed in this tea (and still am, each time I try it). The heavenly fragrance I associate with my best sencha experiences is not there. I have tried using more or less leaves, all at 175 degrees, but the result is a flat taste, not fragrant, with this tart or slightly sour edge that others have tried to describe. I don't get any sense of gyokuro from this tea, and the feel of sencha is very subdued. And as someone else mentions, even the second brewing is indistinct, and the third very watery. I should say that I have tried other sencha blends (from other tea vendors), such as sencha with toasted rice, and have always been disappointed. These just dilute the sencha experience, which is wonderful with the right high quality tea. So this blend is another confirmation that for me, I should stick with straight sencha.
    O-Cha.com Japanese Green Tea & Matcha
    Aug 3, 2017, 10:42
    This is indeed a somewhat tart tea but this style and taste is very popular where it originates in Uji and if you go there you will be served this kind of tea when you go visit tea houses. It is not supposed to be floral, even though it uses gyokuro stems. To make this properly you make it with a lot of leaf and the first infusion is the best for sure. Technique is important when making this tea.
  • Áron Macsicza
    Mar 12, 2016, 23:46
    As every single review, this one is going to be utterly subjective, nevertheless these are my impressions: I have to disagree with Violetta´s opinion. What she experienced must have been due to the small amount of leaves she used. I personally like my teas stronger, this one is no exception, I prepare it similarly to the gyokuros, which means more leaves and colder water, 65 C approximately. If you prepare it properly, even the third infusion is really enjoyable and still on the sweeter side of the spectrum. You can have up to 5 infusions, even though those will lose the sweetness and will be somewhat bitterish. (often I prepare 6) My personal impression is that this tea is rather sweet but I gave my colleagues a few sips and they told me it is quite bitter. I have to emphasize that they do not drink teas at all so for me their opinion is irrelevant :) I give 4 stars only because 5 would mean that it is perfect. But considering the taste, the price and the 100g package it is an excellent everyday tea which will not empty your wallet totally. + I guess no one drinks competition grade gyokuro on a daily basis ;) I have already bough 9 or more packages of this tea what explains everything. In a nutshell: It is a very nice sencha with a slight sweetish touch of gyokuro.
  • Sean Hardcastle
    Feb 11, 2016, 03:56
    Another fine tea from Tsuen Tea. Hard to describe, it's a sort of bitter tast, but not in a bad way. Then the sweetness comes through. A lovely drink I would recommend to anyone.
  • Violetta Ogorodnik
    Feb 9, 2016, 22:46
    This one is not what I like, you can brew it only two times, third one is just nothing, watery, and taste is just average. Won't buy it again, there are some more higher quality ones.
  • Betty
    Dec 11, 2015, 21:41
    This sencha has a very nice balanced taste with a hint of something special. It's not too difficult to brew, and the taste is very addictive. :-)