Kabusecha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Kabusecha


Score: 5.00 (votes: 12)
Reviews: 11
11
 
Score: 5.00 (votes: 12)
Reviews: 11
Rating of votes (12)
5
 
12customers
4
 
 
0customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Grant Glidden
    Nov 21, 2017, 12:07
    Love this tea. Very light. Lovely grassy flavor, ever so gently reminiscent of good matcha, but not at all heavy. Brews well in any of the teapots available on o-cha.com, with very little sediment. Easy to get multiple steeps, and doesn't even need to steep as long as the package suggests.
  • Ricardo
    Mar 25, 2017, 05:18
    At first this tea did not impress me much but after adjusting the brewing parameters a few times, I started to like this Kabusecha more and more. I use 72C,75s/75,25s/80C,60s with a slightly higher leaf to water ratio than recommended (2.5g per 100ml).
    It tastes milder and sweeter than your typical sencha but does not have a strong umami flavor like a gyokuro. If you prefer teas with low astringency you should try this tea. I really like the flavor although it is nothing complex and only has a few nuances. But that's okay because I see this tea more like everyday tea for a decent price.
  • Andrew Kong
    Mar 24, 2017, 18:16
    This is my first time drinking loose-leaf green tea in the States after coming back from a trip to Japan. This is also my first time ordering from O-cha. I have heard Kabusecha is good to start off with and it clearly was. Kabusecha is forgiving when you get the temperatures and brewing times wrong. Eventually I did get it right, but it was fun experimenting with the temperatures and brewing times. With Kabusecha, you can most definitely taste the umami and sweetness. It has a very pleasant flavor that is rather mellowed out(?). The caffeine in the tea slowly "melts" on top of you and evokes such a wonderful feeling of relaxation. Awesome!
  • Betty Anne Noir
    Mar 9, 2017, 08:49
    This tea has a lovely sweet and refreshing taste. It provides quite a few good infusions, as long as you don't do them too long. This is what works best for me: 77C 90s / 82C 30s / 87C 45s / boiling water 90s.
  • Justin Earnest
    Nov 12, 2016, 00:44
    I am enjoying this as an everyday green tea. It's a very reasonably priced high-quality tea. It's a little more robust than sencha, which I like but not quite as strong as Gyokuro, so it's a really nice balance when you are looking for something with a lighter taste or something a little cheaper than Gyokuro.
  • Nick Hardersen
    Jul 31, 2014, 09:51
    Just had my first brew of this kabusecha and it is really, really great! Kabuse does not remind me at all of gyokuro. The flavor profiles are not alike. However, this tea is not expensive and tastes amazing. I will definitely be buying it again. Like the guidelines state, 170 is the ideal temperature!
  • Deborah Theseira
    Jun 27, 2014, 15:59
    I have not yet tried brewing gyokuro at home but it definitely has that rich, umami element present. Very nicely balanced with astringency to be refreshing. Light in colour and very easy to drink, my go-to green tea now. 
  • Peter Blackwell
    Jun 5, 2014, 15:55
    I was not reminded of gyokuro as others seem to have been.  I liked this tea, it was simple to brew and easy in flavor.  Nothing complex or particularly interesting; just decent tea for a good price.
  • WAI MAN LAM
    Mar 7, 2014, 20:02
    Just everyday tea. It has a hint of gyokuro but doesn't compare to gyokuro at all. Reasonable for the price. As for the tea itself, it is a nice green tea if you don't give a higher expectation of gyokuro. Easy to brew.
  • Paul Paro
    Sep 19, 2013, 12:00
    Great "Everyday" Tea
    Just purchased this, a great value compared to the sencha I was getting at the "big name" retailers. It's easy to brew correctly, and has a nice flavor. It's not as sweet as some of the gyokuros I've tried, which I'd prefer, but it's a great tea for when I'm at work and have only the electric kettle and distractions making me miss the clock sometime. Definitely going to be added to my shopping list!