Kaoru Organic Matcha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Kaoru Organic Matcha


Score: 4.46 (votes: 13)
Reviews: 12
12
Score: 4.46 (votes: 13)
Reviews: 12
 
Rating of votes (13)
5
 
 
8customers
4
 
 
3customers
3
 
 
2customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Only registered customers who purchased this product can leave feedback
  • Evgeniya
    Jul 3, 2017, 14:19
    I bought this one and Uji Organic (which the least expensive here). Since i am not an expert in matcha (i drink it only to substitute coffee and regular tea, for energy), i saw no difference between these two matchas, so i will continue to buy the Uji one. But this Kaoru is still great.
  • Maarit
    Aug 6, 2016, 04:43
    My first matcha I ordered from O-Cha was Kaoru Supreme and I liked it a lot. However, having it sent to Finland turned out to be a bit costly due to customs duty. It was a lovely matcha and I had it every morning for an energetic start for the day - well worth the money but after the Kaoru Supreme was I wanted to try out this other, somewhat cheaper organic matcha to compare with the Supreme. Firstly, I was very impressed with the fast delivery. Now that there was no customs duty, the tea reached me less than 7 days. I could not wait to have my first cup as soon as I got home. The froth on this matcha was very soft and thick and the flavour was very mellow, pleasant and mild. The Supreme has definitely more of an "edge" but this Kaoru matcha was a very pleasant surprise and I will surely order it again. As some of the other reviewers noted, this matcha is a good one to get acquainted with matcha teas.
  • Tim Howarth
    Apr 6, 2016, 21:25
    Don't know what i was doing wrong, but it was always too bitter. I never added straight boiling water i let it cool first. I might give it another go in the future, it is extremely fresh though. (O-Cha.com staff guess as to what went wrong: pre-heat and dry the bowl. It sounds like your water temp was still too high. Also, matcha is not completely bitter free.)
  • Todd Reiley
    Apr 1, 2016, 22:34
    Wonderful matcha!! If you are drinking matcha from teavana this will blow it away! Great value introduction to unami flavors for me when brewed at correct temperature!!
  • Leah Fink
    Feb 9, 2016, 13:58
    I"m no expert - I had purchased the Supreme before this and I think that has a slightly milder flavor, but this tea is fine - I don't drink it for the taste - I drink it for the health benefits. I can for sure say that I once bought Republic of Tea matcha at Whoel Foods and this tea is much brighter in color and flavor.
  • Sam DeGeer
    Oct 21, 2014, 02:54
    A very nice, simple matcha. It is characteristically sweet with only a subtle amount of astringency/umami to it. I've found the best water temperature for this particular matcha to be around 160F-165F. Getting above 170F left the overall palate fairly bitter. I would definitely recommend this product as a great introduction to matcha but only as a starting point to explore the more delicate and complex matchas. Advantages: -Great introduction to matcha -Reasonable pricing -Sweet character that may be more accessible for new matcha drinkers/non-tea drinkers -Clean finish  Disadvantages: -Very sensitive to temperature -Not as complex as other more expensive matcha
  • Nick Hardersen
    Apr 24, 2014, 13:24
    I seem to have a completely different view of this matcha as compared to the other people who have reviewed it. While not a bad matcha, I did not find it very exciting at all. This was my first organic matcha and I found it to be fairly harsh no matter what temperature I made it at. The lower temperatures around 160-170 F were less bitter but still not great. I have had other matcha from O-cha which I liked much better. My next one will definitely be the organic supreme that they carry. Hope it is better. 
  • Winifred Leung
    Apr 21, 2014, 01:13
    Excellent smooth matcha without any harshness. Nice flavor. Agree with other reviewer that it is easy on the stomach. Advantages: Great value for organic and high quality 
  • Chaim Moykopf
    Apr 6, 2014, 18:58
    The Organic Matcha Kaoru is a smooth, mellow, creamy and slightly sweet product. No bitter aftertaste. Highly commendable !
  • Tracey Hash
    May 30, 2013, 08:06
    This is my favorite so far!  Fresh and flavorful!!  I highly recommend it!