Sakura Sencha
Back to product details

Ratings and Reviews of Sakura Sencha


Score: 4.83 (votes: 12)
Reviews: 12
12
Score: 4.83 (votes: 12)
Reviews: 12
 
Rating of votes (12)
5
 
 
10customers
4
 
 
2customers
3
 
 
0customers
2
 
 
0customers
1
 
 
0customers
 
Customer reviews
Please sign in to add review
  • Alex Armbruster
    Sep 21, 2017, 21:59
    This tea is very flavorful and has a great aromatic scent. I usually only drink regular sencha but this blends the good sencha taste with the wonderful sakura flowers to produce a good combination
  • Arin
    Aug 27, 2017, 05:20
    Great tea when brewed properly. Very refreshing and a good to-go tea to sip on daily. I would purchase again for the springtime.
  • Dylan Stevenson
    Jun 18, 2017, 18:15
    Tea is nice if brewed right otherwise it can be very particular on the tastebuds. nice once in a while as a break from other senchas
  • Rosana Starr
    Apr 30, 2016, 01:24
    Lovely Sencha tea...I have a sip and am transported to a grove of cherry blossom trees after a soft rain. Magical! As other reviewers have stated the taste is fresh without astringency or savory notes. A clean, woodsy mildly floral taste. You have to try it at least once!
  • Lucas Holland
    Apr 1, 2016, 21:53
    I'll start this off by saying that I don't normally like flavoured teas like this. However, seeing as the price point is very economical and the other reviews consistently good, I decided to give this one a try.

    As others have stated this tea consists mainly of stems (I'd say 95%) with some tea leaves and sakura leaves. I found the suggested brewing parameters to be spot on. Some people might prefer a slightly higher leaf-to-water ratio but that's not the case for me.

    The taste of tea is certainly unique. It does not taste like a standard sencha or kukicha. The cherry component is quite strong without being overpowering and refreshing. I find that it works really well with the grassiness of the green tea. This tea tastes infinitely better than the ones flavoured with artificial aroma that are so prevalent in supermarkets these days. In conclusion, I would even go so far as to recommend this to purists who are looking for something different to try!
  • Betty Anne Noir
    Feb 10, 2016, 22:45
    This tea is very interesting. I find the taste and aroma quite strong, so I'd recommend only making a cup at a time or else it might get too much. I think it's well suited as a late night drink just before bedtime. The smell is heavenly.
  • Mitzi Wiuff
    Sep 14, 2014, 03:14
    At first, I was disappointed when I read the label in Japanese and found out this was a kuki cha, when in English description it only said "sencha" (This explains why this tea is so inexpensive after all.), but when I got the brew just right and the aroma of the sakura leaves (Contrary to many reviewers thinking there are sakura flowers in this tea, it's the leaves that scent the tea as stated in the Japanese ingredients list on the back of the package.), the classic aroma of sakura mochi delights the senses.  For the price, it really is a charming, delightful tea.  Brought back memories of my childhood in Japan.  I'll be buying more for sure.
  • Ann McMahon
    Jun 27, 2013, 12:34
    delightful tea. Not strong like many sencha and you can taste the cherry . Great for a change

    Advantages: not bitter and very pleasant even iced 
  • James Grove
    Jan 14, 2013, 12:00
    Usually, I think flavored teas, especially flowery concoctions are a waste of good tea, but I decided to buy the Sakura Sencha to prove myself wrong. I've loved most of the tea I've gotten from Kevin so far, so I took a risk. I'm glad that I did. This tea has a sweet and a vaguely tarty flavor, reminding me very much of the Otsuu-san Karigane Sencha from Tsuen. Unlike the Otsuu-san, it has no savory component to its flavor. The sakura blossoms add some sweetness to the tea, but their effect is largely aromatic. The aroma makes this tea very approachable to japanese tea novices, while the flavor would not disappoint a more experienced tea purist.

    The taste is not very strong, nor is it complex, nor very rich, nor full, but that is not the point of this tea. It is a nice smooth and easy-going infusion.

    Kevin's brewing parameters are very on the mark here. This tea expands rather quickly, and approximately 45-60 seconds seems to be enough to let it 'bloom.' This tea allows for higher temperature (175-180F) quite easily, as it is completely lacking in bitterness. I suggest using between .6-.7 grams per ounce (erring on the heavier side).

    The second infusion tastes almost identical to the first, which is incredibly rare, and was quite exciting to me. This infusion should be done within similar parameters (with a slightly higher temperature- 180F -and for a slightly shorter time- 30-45 sec).

    The tea is very cheap, although it should be noted that it is sold in 50 grams (the less-frequent, smaller bag offered by O-Cha), and should be considered a $15 tea, not a $7 tea.

    Advantages: Cheap ($15/100 grams).
    Smooth. Easy to brew, good for beginners. Sweet, somewhat tarty. Second infusion is almost identical to the first. Nice aroma. 

    Disadvantages: Not very complex, rich, or full.
    No savory taste (umami) like a Karigane.
  • Liane-Tsun Horn
    Mar 6, 2012, 09:00
    Very pleasant bright appearance. Just had 3 cups of it. The sencha element is no frills and straightforward along with a nice tartness from the sencha stems, both of which complements the sakura well. Very refreshing.